Jonathan Finally Declares Interest To Contest In 2015

President Goodluck Jonathan has finally said he will contest in the 2015 presidential election, saying he will pick his nomination form before the expiration of the deadline given to all aspirants.

His decision was stated during a meeting held with the People’s Democratic Party’s governors and leaders at the House 7 wing of the Presidential Villa, Abuja.
A reliable source, privy to the meeting, said the president thanked the governors for endorsing him and said he has finally made up his mind to run for another tenure.
The source, who spoke on condition of anonymity, said the president has already set up his Presidential Declaration Committee.

It would be recalled that the leadership of the PDP had on Wednesday directed the president and other aspirants to pick their forms for nomination and expression of interest on or before October 30 or risk not participating in the 2015 general elections.

President Jonathan who is expected to pick the nomination form soon after his return from Israel, it was also learnt, will formally declare his presidential ambition on a date which will be fixed by the committee between November 7 and 15, 2014.

Members of the Presidential Declaration Committee include Bello Halliru Mohammed (chairman) from Kebbi; Ken Namani (deputy chairman), Enugu; Anyim Pius Anyim (secretary), Ebonyi; Rufa’i Ahmed Alkali (member), Gombe; Julius Imagwe, SSA, Youth (member), Edo; Baraka Sani (SSA -NSAP) – Kano (member).

Governors were also selected to represent zones. They include Liyel Imoke, Cross River (South South); Theodore Orji, Abia (South East); Olusegun Mimiko, Ondo (South West); Mua’zu Babangida Aliyu Niger (North Central); Ibrahim Shema, Katsina (North West) and Ibrahim Dankwambo, Gombe (North East).

While the representatives at the National Assembly level include Hosea Agbola, a senator (Oyo); Ahmed Makarfi, a senator (Kaduna); Bitrus Kaze (Plateau) and Salmas Badru (Ogun).

Representatives of the Federal Executive Council include minister of petroleum resources, Dieziani Allison-Madueke (Bayelsa); minister of police affairs, Abduljelili Adesiyan (Osun); minister of women affairs, Zainab Maina (Adamawa); minister of Federal Capital Territory, Bala Mohammed (Bauchi).

Representatives of party official include deputy national chairman, Uche Secondus (Rivers); Benue State chapter chairman, Emmanuel Egbo (Benue); national women leader, Kema Chikwe (Imo) and North West zonal chairman, Ibrahim Kazaure (Jigawa).

Party members’ representatives also include Stella Omu (Delta), Walid Jibirn, BOT secretary (Nasarawa); Ibrahim Bunu (Borno); Jolly Nyame (Taraba); Aneitie Okon (Akwa Ibom); Peter Obi (Anambra); Remi Adiuku Bakare (Lagos), and Gen. A. B. Mamman (PDP national youth leader) – FCT.

Others appointed at presidential discretion include Halima Alfa (Kogi); Nigeria’s ambassador to Netherland, Nimota Nihinlola Akanbi (Kwara); FCT ALGON chairman, Micah Yohanna Jiba (FCT) and Sam Ikon (Akwa Ibom).

A summary of members representing the zones include South South (6), South East (5), South West (5), FCT (1), North West (5), North East (6) and North Central (6).


If you enjoyed this post please share with your friends using any of the social networks below. Thank you.


Politics 8832492768457150339

Post a Comment Default Comments

Please leave a comment.


Get Ogun News As It Happen!

Reliable Bulksms.

Most Popular



Need Hosting?

Advertise on Ogun Today

Site Visits